Tailgating Treats

Greetings all. It is my pleasure to introduce you to the Brok’n Kitch’n. For my initial post I would like to cater the season at hand and I’m not talking about autumn, I’m talking about football season. After a week a eating healthy and working out, there is never a better time for a cheat day than kicking back and watching your team on the gridiron. For this week, I will be discussing some of my personal favorite tailgating food that are simple to make but also very delicious.

For starters I will be discussing the creation of the world’s easiest queso dip. The only supplies needed are 16oz of processed cheese, a can of Rotel (peppers and tomatoes), and a microwaveable safe bowl.

To cook this queso dip,

  • Cube the processed cheese and pour the can of peppers and tomatoes over the cheese.
  • Place the bowl in the microwave for around two and a half minutes.
  • At this point, remove the queso from the microwave and stir the ingredients.
  • Place the dip back in the microwave for another two and half minutes.
  • Finally, take the dip out and stir again until liquid smooth and enjoy!

My personal favorite chip for this dip is the Tostito scoops. These chips allow for optimal queso extraction while eating.

Though the queso is delectable, a way to woo your guest is by providing an equally easily made lighter fruit dip. This light and airy dip pairs deliciously with fruits such as fresh strawberries and pineapple.  Once again, this dip requires the use of two ingredients: cream cheese and marshmallow fluff.

Creamy Marshmallow Dip

  • Place one package (8oz) of cream cheese in a bowl.
  • Add small jar of marshmallow fluff, approx. 7oz,
  • Mix with an electric mixer until creamy and thoroughly mixed.

Like I stated above, food does not have to be complicated to be tasty. Also, these ingredients are not only simple but cheap. Enjoy these two dips with family and/or friends while cheering on your team this coming weekend. Go Eagles!

3 thoughts on “Tailgating Treats

    • The queso dip is great especially if you have a way to plug appliances in to your car. We always keep the queso in a small crock pot to keep it warm throughout the tailgate.

      Like

  1. Sometimes the best part of attending a football game is the tailgate. I’ve always been a big fan of queso dip at tailgates, but this is the first time I’ve ever heard of a marshmallow dip. My only question is do you recommend pairing the marshmallow dip with the fruit dip?

    Like

Leave a comment